zkbro

Quick-Posts

2024-09-18 17:18

Got out for another trot again today, up to Ben Lomond saddle, and back along the ridge via the paragliding launchpad. Sky was doing some cool things. After a feed I visited my neglected allotment, which needs some weeding (I miss my stirrup-hoe I left in Aus), but the garlic is coming along nicely.

📸


2024-09-17 16:24

Decided to ignore the fact there's snow everywhere. I need my running fix, and I don't particularly like the flats. Went Miner's trail > Peter's Way > New Chum Gully track out at Arrowtown. Wasn't too bad in the end. Bit of muddy snow melt to begin with, slow going up the tops getting knee deep in snow, but not overly cold (overpants helped). Visibility was good. Given it's a Tuesday had the place to myself. Tried out a Deluxe Cheese Burger at the Fergbutcher aftwards. Oh. My. God. I was audibly satisfied. Check out their full menu. Deadly after a run.

📸


2024-09-15 20:54

Just watched Strange Darling (2023). Amazing movie! If you're into flicks like Blue Ruin and Fargo I highly recommend. Don't read anything about it. Wiki has spoilers. Just watch.

2024-09-13 10:04

A bit of late winter excitement. Got snappy around the river loop.

📸


2024-09-11 20:59

After listening to Ariadne on the GTD podcast, I'm giving Nirvana HQ a go again for task management. I've been in limbo for a while, and although taskwarrior is awesome, trying to remember the commands is distracting me from quickly jotting down my tasks. I was one of the lucky ones and paid a once-off lifetime subscription when it existed.

It's been really wet here. I had a really fun run in the rain yesterday. Got crazy muddy. We had a dump of snow too.

2024-09-02 20:43

Some randoms...

Just finished a 35 minute 8pm run. Bit of lightning and thunder which was cool. We don't get that much here. Bucketing down now. In two days I've ticked off a couple things in the Yahtzee challenge - Half marathon, two runs in a day, start run after 8pm, one hour run. I really liked that night run in the burbs and rain. I wore a jacket, but was soaked inside with sweat. Should not have worn the jacket.

Decided I will split my RSS feeds up into categories now I am posting more frequently.

I wonder if there is an RSS reader that can filter and columnize like Phanpy can with Mastodon.

This made me smile.

I ate some yoghurt, honey, almonds and cacao for desert while I typed this. Yum.

2024-08-31 12:04

Fixing my "blog" CLI command so I can choose post type, and start the prompt from any location. Little improvements. It looks like I've got Zola installed on /usr/bin/ whilst Neocities is installed on /usr/local/bin/. A little confused about the best practices here, and how it affects future bash scripts. Also, not sure the best place for the scripts. I cp to /usr/local/bin/ and add an alias to ~/.bashrc, but I had issues with one script that called a utility in /usr/bin/ so I moved my script to /usr/bin/ and it worked. Anyway, I will do some reading on this stuff before I make a huge mess of it.

2024-08-30 07:04

Crashed at 7PM last night. Woke briefly to the neighbours pulling in the bins at 8.30PM then woke again at 6AM. My head is so exhausted right now. Work is painful, weekends are short, therapy is snail-paced. Shit.

2024-08-29 07:17

Lots of rain over the next few days to get us into Spring. The garden will appreciate that.

2024-08-24 08:30

Nice trot today along the lake, drinking from a creek before heading up some little known DH MTB trails, down some others. It was windy so didn't spend much time above the tree line but was nice under the canopy with all the whooshing of the trees. Beaut sunny day.

📸


2024-08-19 11:25

Going 100% light mode this week on all devices and apps, work and personal. Usually have a mish mash but I need more light right now.

2024-08-16 10:03

I got tired of using MS To Do for my task management at work. I gave it a real go, but its just failing in so many ways. Found out I could install Obsidian so I'm trying it out as a task manager for the first time. Keeping it simple with just the Tasks plugin. After setting up some hotkeys I'm finding it's working really well.

2024-07-31 21:18

Playing around with containers.

2024-07-30 11:17

Just as my motivation for a run kicks in it starts to snow. I need to get out so I'll just layer up and crack on.

2024-07-29 22:41

Oops looks like I need to configure how it looks on the mobile. Stretching and shrinking and stuff. Get the atom feed working too. Will throw the link up when I get a chance if anyone wants to follow along with this utter mess.

2024-07-29 21:18

I actually can't believe I got this working.

2024-07-29 21:07

Now all I have to do is type in "blog" and start writing. test test.

$ blog
Enter blog title: blogging from the command line
Enter slug name: cli
Write (Ctrl+D to finish):
Now all I have to do is type in "blog" and start writing. test test. 

2024-07-29 17:38

Bleh. Web design is hard! Going around in circles but getting there. Working on flexing, CSS and the Tera template engine. This isn't the finished product, but a simple design to get me familiar with some bits and pieces.

2024-07-27 12:00

Not entirely sure how I'll style the website just yet. Needs dark/light options at least. There's some out of the box themes I could use but that's boring...

2024-07-27 11:00

This is my first blog post. I've written and published this web page entirely from the command line. Amazeballs.