zkbro

Weeknote 2024-W37

2024-09-16 10:31

Some random front-of-mind pieces from my week.

🏃 Ran 9.29km / 413m

A very small week. Only got out once. Weather just wasn't enticing. Snow and rain. Though the one run I did do was great fun just sloshing on the trail which was pretty much a river.

🌧️ ❄️ We got a good dumping of snow all the way down to street level. We didn't get that all Winter, but better late than never I guess. I took a bunch of photos on my little river walk close to home. It was fun to see all the families out on their toboggans. The kids all got a snow day on Friday. Before that it was just rain rain rain. The most consistent rain I've experienced in the 5+ years I've been here. It's still raining.

🌱 I continue to clear out the greenhouse ready for Summer planting. I will be getting stuck into that this week. Check my crop log out to see what's going in.

🩸 Health

I have been encouraged to take 3 weeks off work, supported by my boss, HR, doctor and therapist. It is sick leave. I am appreciative of this, and not going to abuse it.

Note to self:

I give myself permission to relax, to not think about work, to not put pressure on myself to do better, upskill, achieve more, get results. If I don't finish something I set out to do, that's ok. I will not worry about non-existent judgements, past "mistakes" or criticisms. I will let go.

I will have some boundaries. Eat well. Exercise. Get outside. Limited screen time. Sleep. I will not force these, or be hard on myself if I don't hit the mark.

In a week I will start to think about my employment direction. For now, it's just clearing my head.

💻 New tools

I spent a few hours on a wet day turning my Oppo R17 Android phone into a web server. To my surprise I got it running! I have no experience in this stuff so I just cut loose in my browser searches, installed a heap of utilities that worked and didn't, failed, succeeded, and finally got it going. The main tools I used were:

I want to do some more research before taking any further steps, and will reach out to some friendly folk who have offered a hand, but yeah, I'm pretty stoked that I got this far.

💻 Website Updates

📚 Finished reading Lights out in Wonderland by DBC Pierre. First book in a while. This was a wacky ride! ⭐⭐⭐⭐

📺 Watched Strange Darling (2023) - If you're into flicks like Blue Ruin and Fargo I highly recommend. It's got all the twists and turns. Try not to read anything about it before watching.

🎶 Listening to...

📸


Leave a comment